Philip wins at the Hewitt & Gilpin Phoenix GP

Over 250 riders took part in 5 races at the Hewitt and Gilpin Phoenix GP, on a cold but sunny day. A great success for the club with Race Secretary Geoff Hewitt, Race Committee members Judith Russell, Jim Hegarty, Colin Hughes and John Smyth, Treasurer Seamus Doyle and Committee member Eamon Burns doing a huge amount of work to make sure the race, administration and catering were all taken care of. They were backed up by a large group of club volunteers who helped out with the marshaling, driving and catering.

Congratulations to the race winners Gary Jeffers (East Tyrone) A1/A2 race, J.P. Connelly (Strabane-Lifford) A3 race, Philip O’Neill (Phoenix CC) A4 race, Kevin McCrossan (Four Masters) Masters race and Janine McNally (North Down) womens race.

For Phoenix in addition to Philips win in the A4 race, Ali McAuley was 4th in the A1/A2 race, John Smyth 3rd in the A3 race, Stan Stewart 2nd and Michael Tolan 3rd in the Masters race and Judith Russell 4th in the womens race. A great start to the racing season for the club, lots of other club riders had good races and you can see photos and race reports at the Cycling Ulster web site. There are also plenty of good posts, photos and links on the club message board.

Pictured here is Philip O’Neill crossing the line to win the A4 race.

Philip O'Neill wins the A4 Race